Shelley Primary School

EYFS Guide

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5 and is a crucial stage as it helps prepare your child for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.

On entry to school in the Reception year the children’s learning continues to be guided by the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. This curriculum underpins all future learning by supporting, nurturing and promoting the child’s development in seven key areas, which are divided into: 

The ‘prime’ areas of:

·         Personal, Social and Emotional Development

·         Physical Development

·         Communication and Language

The ‘specific’ areas of learning and development in

·         Literacy

·         Mathematics

·         Understanding the World

·         Expressive art and Design

 Children learn through a mixture of adult-directed and self-initiated activities.  Their learning and development is assessed through careful observations of their engagement in with these activities and recorded using an online ‘learning journal’.  This record can be accessed, and added to, if appropriate, at home.

Please click on the link below to download a Parent's Guide to EYFS:

 PDF icon EYFS Parent's Guide